dark mother

leavesm

Why do I not write here anymore, someone kind asks me in a comment. I lost energy in the too-long journey of writing the current novel (not finished). I lost a little hope about life (regained). I thought, what does it matter what I say (whine).

Today, I want to share a lovely, deep piece about winter from Dunya. One line of it reverberates in me…..a last savoring of our mother. Her mother, too, has Alzheimer’s. My mother, in her 12th year of it, lives and breathes, but little else.

I share this with you in an embrace of the dark and fine, fine writing……leavesm

 

4 responses to “dark mother

  1. Thank you, Mrs. Koen, for sending…. I am privileged to keep you & yours uplifted in prayer. That so often seems a lame response, but not for the believer… God bless you in all your ways, and praising God for the blessing your writing is for so many of us.

  2. Thank you for sharing my post, Karleen. Love you, D

    >

  3. This is beautiful, Karleen. I’m grateful to be included in this mailing. Thank you, Sally Isenberg

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. It’s time. When is your newest book coming out?

    For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven: a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together….

Leave a comment