m-m-m and god

Sometime this week, I  hope to hold my second Ladybug Festival. Last year’s festival was a huge success. I dragged it around in my heart for days. Here’s what happens: I buy a package of ladybugs, some 1, 500, so the advertising claims. And then I and my two oldest grandchildren release them. It’s quite a process, as ladybugs fall out in clumps and immediately land on you as well as the nearest plant. They need a moment to take in their surroundings; then they’re off in a flutter of hilariously small wings. Since they look like tiny Volkswagen Beetles, it’s funny when the two small wings unsheath, and they’re gone. My grandchildren and I were in hilarity and wonder over it last year, and I carried a sense of miracle for days. The ladybugs landed on our arms, our hair, our legs, but then they were off, like small blessings searching for homes. So, I want to do it again this year. The package of ladybugs is bought. I need only grandchildren.

Sighting: someone in the Heights has fat clay pots filled with white petunias, fern and trailing alyssum. It stopped me in my tracks, and I had to take a picture.

M-m-m: Youngest Grandson, 15 months, walked by blooming, climbing roses at his house this last week and stopped in his tracks and said, M-m-m, his sound for food he really, really likes. His nose liked this, and he had to smell rose after rose, saying M-m-m every time. Who says there is no God?

4 responses to “m-m-m and god

  1. How amazing the Ladybug experience would be! I would love to know where you find them!

  2. I love your blog, and the idea of ordering and releasing ladybugs is wonderful!

  3. I’ve always loved ladybugs- they are considered lucky, but beyond that they are of themselves little messengers of hope and tranquility. Your idea was splendid! Its moments like those that become cornerstones of family tradition. Good for you!
    Glad to hear you & yours are enjoying Springtime. Take care & have a great weekend 🙂

  4. Pingback: bittersweet | Karleen Koen — writing life

Leave a Reply

