singing myself

Words from a Unity prayer caught my attention this week….I go about fulfilling that for which I was designed, which is to sing myself and try to share the loveliness of which I am aware….I was struck by “sing myself” because that’s what writing fiction is, and I often tremble at my own boldness to dare it. I don’t know the song when I begin a new project. I have to pull it all from inside onto the page. The inherent audacity in that frightens some feeble part of me. Interestingly enough, words from Rumi also uncovered themselves from among the stacks of files, books, and papers that are my office:

Today, like every other day, we

wake up empty and frightened.

Don’t open the door to the study

and begin reading. Take down the dulcimer.

Let the beauty we love be what we do.

There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss

the ground.

Isn’t that lovely? That our very creativity is a act of kneeling and kissing the ground? That our very life, living it, is also….sharing not the fear and anger, but the loveliness….

3 responses to “singing myself

  1. Just back from a lovely weekend in Williamsburg with my sister (one of them, I have four.) Visited with a friend, Jean, at the La Petite Tea Room, while there. Her food is divine! We had her Virginia Ham Club and Sangria Tea. For dessert…a Chocolate Ganache Torte with a dollop of raspberry ice cream AND a dollop of whipped cream! Yum, yum! If you are ever in Williamsburg, Virginia, you must visit her tea room at the Williamsburg Antique Mall. My sister and I have been going there since 1997. I must have been designed to eat, and I do go about fulfilling it! lol

  2. Karleen,
    I just love reading the way you express yourself. It alone is lovely. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention singing myself | Karleen Koen — writing life -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

