alchemy

I thought I’d print the Hyacinthe Hill poem Reaching Toward Beauty from last week’s blog. I can find very little about Ms. Hill on the internet. The poem is from the book, When I am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple:

You love declines. You, thinking little lines

aound my eyes are fallen lashes, try

to brush them off. I do exfoliate.

In this autumn of my being, parts of me

fly, like tossed and wintry-blasted leaves.

I don’t regret their passing. I must work

to make a clean and crystal-perfect form.

I, alchemist, and I, philosopher’s stone,

have sacrificed the fat, and froth, and fur

of youth, to walk through fire, leap in the dark,

swim inward rivers, pray at a wailing wall.

The wrinkles, sags, the graying hair are earned.

You mourn like a child over a broken doll.

Only the core of this crone was ever real……….

Wow. This is what I love about poets, their ability to seize some small formation of words and make them explode in the imagination. I tell people who ask me about writing to read poetry to internalize the beauty of language. I tell them to listen to Garrison Keillor’s Writer’s Almanac on NPR, a poem a day the man reads to us, bless him. Imagine what life might be like if the first thing we heard in the morning was a poem, if we chewed on its meaning all day, instead of what we do chew on.

It was the quest of pre-scientists in the 16th century to turn lead into gold. We are the alchemists of our lives. What brew are you making? Bitter or sweet? Forgiving or vengeful?

2 responses to “alchemy

  1. I love the idea of reading a poem first thing in the morning and chewing on it all day… I am going to do that. Thanks so much for that inspiration, and for sharing this beautiful poem too.

  2. I found your post on the Internet as I was researching Hyacinthe Hill. I don’t know anything about her poetry. I knew her as Virginia Anderson (or “Mrs. Anderson,” as we kids used to know her). She was an English teacher at Junior High School 45 in the 1960s-1970s. A wonderful teacher, and a very fine person, very caring, stood out from the rest of the teachers. We only vaguely knew about her poetry but I do recall her pen name.

Leave a Reply

