tender

It’s that tender time of year, sweetness showing in the new green of grass and tree buds. The redbud and tulip tree define the city in such tender colors: not quite purple, not quite pink for the tulip tree. And as for the redbud, even the thesaurus can’t summon a tint to match its beauty: amethyst, wine, madder, violet, none of them quite fit.

New beginnings, birth, rebirth, that’s what spring signifies. What will you begin? What project or life goal have you put off? What in you needs to be birthed? What in you needs to be born again, this time into a kinder frame? When the green shading of  the grass is so clear it hurts to see, it’s life itself prompting us to unfurl, move, shake, grow, dare. Can you, will you….and what?

3 responses to “tender

  1. marlene brandt

    i read through a glass darkly a week after publication i have been a fan since dark angels was very good. your writing power is immense i anxiously await publication of versaille–i was having career problems when i read through a glass darkly reading it changed my life thank you marlene

  2. well, i’m doing this crazy thing: deconstructing a piano to harvest the keyboard. it’s an idea that came to visit one day about 4 weeks ago, and i just up and decided to do it. put a note on facebook asking if anyone had a piano they were looking to get rid of, and within 2 hours, i heard from a woman who lives nearby saying she had a piano that was mine for the taking. i’m going to pick it up next week and let the tools get to work. can’t explain why i’m doing this – i am just compelled. it’s my tender because i am part of a family that tolerates no nonsense. everything must have its purpose, and its purpose must be something that can be succinctly articulated to the satisfaction of the most linear of brains. this is tender. oh yeah, this is tender.

  3. Bonnie Chumney

    I read “Through a Glass Darkly” not long after it was first published. Then, I waited and waited and waited for the sequel I was sure would follow. I knew that all the research that went into this first book would also be found the second, so figured it would take a few years before the sequel came out. Then, having read the first a couple more times, I decided to try the internet to see if I had somehow missed the sequel. Sure enough, “Now Face to Face,” had already been on the market. How did I miss it? I belong to Doubleday Book Club, for heaven’s sake. Anyway, I ordered it after reading a few reviews that were not very flattering. I read it, and I wasn’t as thrilled with it as with the first, but I truly believe I must have been influenced by those reviews. I recently reread the two books, back to back, and I had a very difficult time putting them down, although I had read them both before.

    I can’t wait until I read “Dark Angels.” Alice was such a prominent part of the first novel, I look forward to reading about her earlier life, about the things in her life mentioned in the other books, particularly in “Now Face to Face.”

Leave a Reply

