doing it wrong?

bambooAm I doing it all wrong? This blog, I mean. I went to a workshop this weekend about the internet and social media, which, in case you didn’t know, is what this is. Build a community was among the advice given, give people a reason to respond.

I guess I saw this blog more as a glimpse into the process of my life, from which my writing comes, my everyday life as I grope for some sense of meaning to any part of my week. I must think on this more. Am I too philosophical? Does anybody really care what I think? Did I need to be more informative?

There is so much I know about history, about women in history, about writing.What do you think?

12 responses to “doing it wrong?

  1. Personally, I feel this blog is a way for you to express what is going on in your life, as a writer writing her next novel. This is the place for you to post anything and everything that you come across through your research, in your life, or anything that moves you to write. As a huge fan of your work, I look forward to your posts, whatever they may be about.

  2. I enjoy reading your blog. The reminiscences remind me of why I look forward to your new novels. I have read each of your books as they were published and consider them in my top 25 of all time favorites. Each of your novels are wonderful in their own way. The characters leap off the pages and exist beside me, the scenes are so well-written I want to copy them and send them to writers and tell them this is how you do it.

    Thanks for many hours of pleasure reading. I look forward to the next one.

    Gary

  3. I read your blog because it’s you. You can’t do it wrong. I used to try to “be,” “do,” or “say,” something with my blog, and it made me feel trapped and guilty. Now that I let go and am writing about what I want, when I want, I enjoy it alot more (and I’m sure my readers do too!).

  4. One of the important lessons I learned from you last summer in your novel writing class was that we all have to find our own approaches to completing a novel. I think the same applies to your blog.

    Since that workshop last summer, I have completed my novel, largely because of your encouragement. I am now beginning the process of getting critiques–because it’s ready for that now.

    I read your blog because it helps me remember and reconnect with what you taught me. It reminds me that all writers have struggles, and yet you have succeeded several times. You are a lantern, walking ahead of me, shining a light.

    I hope that if you change your blog, it’s because YOU want to. (And you may be building more of a community, just by doing what you’re doing, than you realize.)

  5. For me, this is a great blog. You actually share your life in an interesting and revealing way and, by keeping it simple, the focus remains on how your work progresses and your thoughts.

    I suppose it depends what you want your blog to “do “and whether you have the time to spend on it, rather than your writing or other parts of your life. Do you want it to grow and change, or are you happy with how it is now?

    It will probably grow naturally once your next book is due to be published (it will be!) and the extra interest generated from publicity will increase the traffic to your site. You could include some historical detail and insights around then, almost as an aside, without creating an enormous forum and the admin headaches that go with keeping them up to date.

    I can see the problems but, sometimes, less is more! (I hope that’s still true!)

  6. Nicole (South Africa)

    There is no wrong or right way to do a blog. We are interested in what you have to say, and what you are doing lately.

    Blogs sprung up originally as a way to keep friends and family informed when people were apart or overseas.

    It is your blog and you can do as you please it is your kingdom on the Internet.

    Looking forward to your next book.

  7. I have enjoyed your books immensely and look forward to the next one – as such, I read your blog to better understand you.

    Your blog gives me insight into what you are thinking – like an editorial page.

    Like the other comments – the blog is whatever you want it to be. Any classes on the internet and social media should introduce you to the available tools and the possibilities – to be used to suit your own purposes.

  8. Just like your novels, your blog with grow and change and develop. You would never expect your novel to be “finished” with the first draft. Whenever we learn something new we tend to feel overwhelmed with the information given to us. I think you will find that this will become more comfortable to you the more you process the information and make it a part of your daily life.
    As a reader, I find it a privilege that you share part of your thoughts with us. It is wonderful to be able to connect with a beloved author and to see the whole process unfold. I think it will make reading your latest novel that much more satisfying!

  9. I finished Through a Glass Darkly and Now Face to Face one right after the other. What a delightful experience. Will there be another book continuing the experiences of these characters. I really, really hope so–and if so, when? Thanks again.

  10. I could respond to so many of your entries but I stopped at this one because I treasure reading your process… Being let into your world. I am so tired of everyone’s functionality in their networking. Its as if everything has become promotion. I love when things aren’t.

  11. You remind me of why I started the blog, which had functionality as part of it (someone being appalled that I did little or no social internet media), but when I decided I’d do this, I thought I would share my process as a writer and also those small events in daily life that reverberated for me on other levels.

    And I’ve grown to enjoy the blog as such a different kind of writing from a novel, a short, concrete piece that sometimes makes a full circle. And I love choosing a picture! Like cutting and pasting in kindergarden.

  12. Ha! Just read through all of these comments and got to the one before your response, completely agreed, and then looked at the name.

Leave a Reply

